Six Nations: How many trophies are there and who can win what?

Six Nations: How many trophies are there and who can win what?

DUBLIN, IRELAND – MARCH 18: Johnny Sexton of Ireland lifts the Six Nations Trophy as James Bryan of Ireland lifts the Triple Crown Trophy after winning the Six Nations with a Grand Slam during the Six Nations Rugby match between Ireland and England at Aviva Stadium on March 18, 2023 in Dublin, Ireland. (Photo by Dan Mullan – RFU/The RFU Collection via Getty Images)

The Six Nations is more than just a competition, it’s a series of rivalries between a number of rugby-playing nations. This weekend sees the Calcutta Cup and Giuseppe Garibaldi Trophy up for grabs.

There are a total of nine gongs to be won and Scotland go into each tournament with hopes of securing seven of them – which is ironic given they haven’t won the title in the Six Nations era.

Here are the nine pieces of silverware up for grabs, the year they were first played for and who currently holds the title ahead of their respective battles in 2023.

Championship Trophy

The Championship Trophy is presented to the winners of the Six Nations each year. It was the brainchild of the Earl of Westmorland and handed out for the first time in 1993.

It is sterling silver and has 15 panels – representing 15 players – and three handles – to represent the three on-field officials.

A newer version of the gong was introduced in 2015.

Ireland hold this trophy at the moment having won the Championship in 2023.

Triple Crown

The Triple Crown is contested between th

…. to be continued
Read full article at the Original Source
Copyright for syndicated content belongs to the linked Source : CityAM –